Key terms to be familiar with:

  • ‘Acute care’ - short-term treatment for a severe injury or episode of illness, an urgent medical condition or recovery from surgery.
  • ‘Better care fund’ - a £5.3 billion budget that aims to look at new initiatives, so that the NHS and local government work more closely together and integrate local health and social care systems.
  • 'Continuing health care' or ‘CHC’ - ongoing care that is arranged and funded solely by the NHS where the individual has been found to have a 'primary health care’ need.
  • ‘Clinical Commissioning Group’ or ‘CCG’ - NHS organisations that enable GPs and other clinicians to organise the delivery of NHS services in England, based on their geographical area (replaced NHS Trusts in 2012).
  • ‘Clinician’ - a healthcare professional working in primary or secondary care.
  • ‘Community care’ - locally based health or social care services provided to patients in and around their home, designed to keep people independent.
  • Health care - the prevention of a disease, illness, injury or disability and the care or aftercare of a person with those needs and commonly (but not exclusively) provided by medical professionals.
  • ‘Intermediate care’ - treatment and care given after an acute hospital stay or to prevent a person needing one.
  • ‘Non-acute inpatient services’ - specialist care primarily for people with severe and enduring mental-health problems.
  • ‘Payment by results’ - a financial payment system linked to the amount of work and efficiency of the service provided.
  • ‘Personal budget’ or 'Personal health budget’ - the amount of money allocated to an individual by the local government or NHS to meet the individual’s social care or health needs.
  • ‘Primary care’ - health services that are the first point of contact for patients e.g. GP surgeries, pharmacists, dentists and opticians.
  • ‘Secondary care’ - services provided by medical specialists who generally do not have the first contact with patients e.g. cardiologists, urologists, dermatologists.
  • ‘Social care’ - non-medical care that is aimed at providing vulnerable people with care and support to enable them to live their lives as fully as possible.
  • ‘Vanguards’ - models or ways of delivering care that aim to simplify services for individuals by joining up the NHS, local authorities, for-profit and voluntary organisations.

Key legislation to be familiar with:

  • Care Act 2014 (and Statutory Guidance)
  • Health and Social Care Act 2012
  • Mental Capacity Act 2005

Further information

If you would like more information about the topics discussed, please contact Emma Watt.

Is £400m enough?
Is £400m enough?

The government announced on 16 May that it will provide a fund of £400m to cover the costs of removal and replacement of cladding to high rise residential blocks which have failed tests.

The problems with co-owned properties and attorneys
The problems with co-owned properties and attorneys

Whilst some people are under the impression that preparing a Lasting Power of Attorney (LPA) is simply a case of completing a form and ticking a few boxes, it is about far more than this.

What's mine is (not) yours!
What's mine is (not) yours!

A big fear for some people facing divorce and the inevitable carving up of the matrimonial assets. They seek assurances that such assets will be “ring-fenced” and retained for them.

How to avoid the PET trap
How to avoid the PET trap

When an individual is thinking about making a gift to another individual, consideration needs to be given to the Potentially Exempt Transfer (PET) trap.

Fictitious divorces
Fictitious divorces

Arising from the recent Family Division announcement, people who think they are legally divorced may in fact still be married.